Teaching Justice Webinar Series

08 Aug 2018 10:54 AM | Lauren Bartlett (Administrator)

Teaching Justice Webinar Series

A project of the Best Practices Committee

What is the Teaching Justice Webinar Series?

Over the next year, the Teaching Justice Webinar series will feature a number of innovative faculty who will discuss new approaches to teaching justice in the classroom. Each session will draw on the wisdom of current resistance movement and examine its intersections with criminal justice, immigration policy, racial justice, economic justice, and international human rights, among other issues. 

This series will explore the theory behind experiential faculty’s decision-making processes during an intense political movement, asking the question, “How do we show up as lawyers and teachers?” Presenters also hope to develop a shared vocabulary and a deeper understanding of what it means to be a lawyer, whether we consider ourselves movement lawyers, rebellious lawyers, or transformative lawyers. 

Upcoming Webinar Sessions:

Teaching Racial Justice

March 19, 2019 at 11 a.m. PT/ 12 p.m. MT/ 1 p.m. CT/ 2p.m. ET (one hour session):

Deborah Archer, Associate Professor of Clinical Law and Director of the Civil Rights Clinic at NYU School of Law

Teaching Juvenile Justice

Date TBD

Eve Hanan, Associate Professor of Law and Director of the Juvenile Justice Clinic at UNLV William S. Boyd School of Law


Past Webinar Sessions:

Teaching Justice in the Context of Immigrants’ Rights

December 6, 2018

Taught by Annie Lai, Clinical Professor of Law and Co-Director of the Immigrant Rights Clinic at the University of California, Irvine School of Law, and Sameer Ashar, Vice Dean for Experiential Education and Professor of Law, UCLA. 

Download the powerpoint presentation used during the December 6th webinar here.


Shifting Power througTransformative Lawyering in Community Economic Development

September 26, 2018 

Taught by Renee Hatcher, Assistant Professor of Law and Director of the Business Enterprise Law Clinic at The John Marshall Law School, Alicia Alvarez (Michigan Law), Dorcas Gilmore (Univ. of Maryland Law), and Susan Bennett (American University – WCL).

For questions about this series please contact the co-directors of the webinar series sub-committee, Laila Hlass lhlass@tulane.edu or Allison Korn korn@law.ucla.edu


_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy  |  Site Map  

© 2011 Clinical Legal Education Association 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software